How does the IGCSE compared to other programmes like CBSE, ICSE or the Middle Years Programme of the IB?

IGCSE offers a wider range of subjects and encourages high academic standards through a practical approach to teaching and learning. Assessment is not limited to conventional written papers and they consist of a variety of tests e.g. oral and listening tests.

The assessment is aimed at a wide ability range of students, with an eight-point grading scale, from A+ to G, with A+ being the highest. IGCSE is a balanced curriculum and a flexible course of study.

Most subjects offer a choice between core curriculum and extended curriculum. This gives students of all ability levels the freedom to choose subjects that are right for them and, thereby, the opportunity to score good grades.

The core curriculum is an overview of the subject and is suitable for students who are expected to achieve grades G to C.

The extended curriculum is sort of a specialization in that subject. It is more challenging and designed for students who are expected to achieve grades C to A+.

IGCSE is tailored for a more multi-cultural and more multi-lingual audience.

Does the IGCSE start only in Class 9? What about the primary years? Can a student do IGCSE after completing his/ her earlier schooling through a different board?

Currently, IGCSE is a two-year programme starting at the Class 9 level. A student who has done his/ her early schooling from any other board can join the IGCSE programme at the Class 9 level.

The introduction of this programme means students will be able to study the IGCSE from age five through age eighteen.

A student who has passed IGCSE is eligible for any +2 level qualification, like Class 12 CBSE/ ICSE or any international pre-university programme, like the IB Diploma, Advanced Placement Diploma (US), and A/AS Level & AICE (UK).

What are the subjects in the IGCSE curriculum?

There are five Subject Groups in IGCSE with several subjects to choose from, in each group:

Group 1: Languages (First Language, Second Language, Foreign Language, etc)

Group 2: Humanities and Social Sciences (Geography, English Literature, History, etc)

Group 3: Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, etc)

Group 4: Mathematics (Mathematics, Additional Mathematics, etc)

Group 5: Creative, Technical & Vocational (Accounting, Business Studies, Computer Studies, Music, etc)

For each subject, the certificate merely indicates the grades scored, and not pass or fail

Five scores of 'C' or higher indicates a students readiness to pursue +2 level qualifications, like the Class 12 CBSE, IB Diploma, Advanced Placement Diploma (US), etc.

What is the International Certificate of Education (ICE) that is awarded to some IGCSE students?

The ICE is more prestigious than the standard IGCSE.

Instead of the five papers needed to obtain the IGCSE, if a student attempts and passes seven or more papers, she/he is awarded the ICE.

The seven subjects must be as follows:

Two subjects from the language group One from each of the other four groups One more from any of the five groups

Why should I select IGCSE for my child?

1. . IGCSE is one of the most sought-after and recognized qualifications in the world. It develops and encourages vital educational skills, including oral skills, investigative skills, problem solving, team work, recall of knowledge, and initiative.

2. The IGCSE programme has worldwide status and credibility. There are more than 10,000 Cambridge schools in over 160 countries worldwide. It is recognized by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU) as being at par with CBSE, ICSE, etc.

3. The IGCSE curriculum is balanced and lends an international perspective to studies. It also takes account of differing abilities of students.

4. IGCSE students can take advantage of the EDEXCEL achievement test, a diagnostic service comprising of standardized tests, that pin-points a student's strengths and weaknesses in key curriculum areas.

What are EDEXCEL and CIE?

Edexcel is the UK's largest academic qualifications awarding body

It was formed in 1996 by the merger of two well-respected bodies, BTEC (the Business & Technology Education Council), and ULEAC (the University of London Examinations and Assessment Council).

In 2003, Edexcel merged with the education giant, Pearson PLC, to set up a new company called Edexcel Limited, which is 75% owned by Pearson and 25% by the Edexcel Foundation.

CIE is the international division of University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate (UCLES).

UCLES is another UK-based academic qualifications awarding body, known for its professional, rigorous and high standard assessments.

UCLES is a department of the University of Cambridge, which was formed in the year 1207, and is one of the oldest and most reputed universities in the world.